top of page
  • Writer's pictureTashalie Vorster

REFLECTIVE THINKING ON DESIGNING THE VEGA SCHOOL PROMOTIONAL CAMPAIGN

Any exhibition requires to be promoted to the public and therefore requires the help of a graphic design process to get to the final visual production. No matter the event the visuals needs to portray the event and the right message portrayed to the public.


Golden hands generic Vega poster
Tashalie Vorster, Transcend Generic Poster. 2017

DESCRIPTION


Vega School hosts an annual exhibition showcasing the best of the top student’s work. The exhibition includes work from all four programmes offered by Vega and showcases work from first to the third year. The Vega programmes are as follow; BA Degree in Graphic Design, BA Degree in Fashion Design, BA Degree in Interior Design and Higher Certificate in Art and Design. It was required to develop and design the promotional campaign for the Vega 2017 Exhibition as a third-year assignment. All the third-year students from all campuses participated in this assignment. My designs were chosen and used to promote the exhibition on all the campuses.



Graphic Design, Fashion Design and Higher Certificate Discipline posters
Tashalie Vorster, Transcend Discipline Posters. 2017
 

RATIONALE (Feelings)


At the start of the project, I felt very frustrated as it initially was handed out as a group project. We were not enough students to make up an equal number of students per group. I suggested that I would complete the project on my own, as I trusted my designing capabilities. Diving headfirst into the mountains of research, I searched for inspiration that would drive the project campaign theme. I knew what I wanted to create, as the designs were top of mind.



Vega Web banner mock up
Tashalie Vorster, Transcend web mock-up. 2017

Struggling to find one word to present the theme of the campaign, conceptually rewriting the word until the word ‘Transcend’ emerged. Transcend’s definition according to the oxford dictionary is to: “Be or go beyond the range or limits”. The black, gold and white colour palette was inspired by the art movement, Art Deco, as I believed people during that era celebrated life. I felt that this colour palette represents the superior quality of the student’s work and creates an elegant evening experience putting the exhibition in a class of its own. Hands were chosen for the visuals because as designers we create with our hands and the creativity flows from within and overflow from our fingertips into our designs. The fact that the arms are coloured black in the design is to create contrast and to be colourless and not be racial offensive.



Discipline brochure
Tashalie Vorster, Transcend Brochure. 2017
 

EVALUATION


Playing around with different types of photographs of fingers dipped in gold paint, resulted in successful material for the different disciplines of the campaign. In contrast to the photographs, it was very difficult to remove the paint from my hands. With hands covered with paint, I required an assistant. The person chosen was absolutely right for the job as he understood my creative aspirations to the point. It turned out that my project ended in some form of a group project after all.


After my design was posted online and shared through emails to the exhibition invitation list two of the most respected design trend forecasters, one’s name is Dave Nemeth, shared and commented on my design by congratulating Vega on a job well done.


Social Media Vega Promotion on Campaign
Tashalie Vorster, Transcend Social Media Post. 2017
 

CONCLUSION


I did not conceptualise multiple concepts that could have resulted in more material for my portfolio for future use. After the project completion, an opportunity arose to enter an international competition with my designs. However, I did not take the time to enhance my designs to enter the competition in time, caused by miss communication on the entry date.



Promotional Vega Note Booklet
Tashalie Vorster, Transcend booklet front. 2017

Inside of Promotional Vega Note Booklet
Tashalie Vorster, Transcend inside booklet. 2017
 

ACTION PLAN


It is important to do user research and to test the design. It was required of us to give a presentation as part of our project hand in deliverables. Classmates as well as the Vega School panel staff members gave feedback after the presentation. Therefore the changes were made to my designs and used for the 2017 Vega School Exhibition of the end year student’s work.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page